Just One Day

Just One Day ~Gayle Forman

(Just One Day #1)

JOD

Rating 5 Stars

Blurb

A breathtaking journey toward self-discovery and true love, from the author of If I Stay

When sheltered American good girl Allyson “LuLu” Healey first meets laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter at an underground performance of Twelfth Night in England, there’s an undeniable spark. After just one day together, that spark bursts into a flame, or so it seems to Allyson, until the following morning, when she wakes up after a whirlwind day in Paris to discover that Willem has left. Over the next year, Allyson embarks on a journey to come to terms with the narrow confines of her life, and through Shakespeare, travel, and a quest for her almost-true-love, to break free of those confines.

Review

I laughed, I cried, I fell in love, I stayed up til 4:30 AM. I very literally could not put this down. I love the premise of this book, so much changes in a day and in many ways it reminded me of the movie serendipity (a happy accident) I immediately connected with Allyson and loved that from the start this book was just as much about Lulu as it was about Williem. The side characters in this book are no less beautifully crafted, how can you not love Dee? The only complaint I have would be the number of spelling or grammatical errors in my text that jolted me out of the novel trying to work out what she meant. And of course the wait for the sequel, although this just means I will have to read this brilliant book again… although probably not so late at night. now off to google translate those phrases i am just going to “have to look up”

Quotes

“Part of me knows one more day won’t do anything except postpone the heartbreak. But another part of me believes differently. We are born in one day. We die in one day. We can change in one day. And we can fall in love in one day. Anything can happen in just one day.”

“Or maybe it’s not a miracle. Maybe this is just life. When you open yourself up to it. When you put yourself in the path of it. When you say yes.”

“You have to fall in love to be in love, but falling in love isn’t the same as being in love”

“And that’s when I understand that I have been stained. Whether I’m still in love with him, whether he was ever in love with me, and no matter who he’s in love with now, Willem changed my life. He showed me how to get lost, and then I showed myself how to get found.”

“But what if Shakespeare― and Hamlet― were asking the wrong question? What if the real question is not whether to be, but how to be?”

ok and now i am going to have to stop myself quoting because there is just too much more to quote READ IT. this is one of those books i have been throwing at people demanding they read ever since i first picked it up.

Next Book

the sequel JUST ONE YEAR will be out in October… and yes i know that is still 5 MONTHS AWAY… (not good enough) we are 5 months closer than when i read this book

JOYAlso By This Author

IIS SIS

Leave a Reply

