The Future of Us

The Future of Us ~ Jay Asher & Carolyn MacklerTFOU

Rating 1.5 Stars

Blurb

It’s 1996 and very few high school students have ever used the internet. Facebook will not be invented until several years in the future. Emma just got a computer and an America Online CD. She and her best friend Josh power it up and log on – and discover themselves on Facebook in 2011. Everybody wonders what they’ll be like fifteen years in the future. Josh and Emma are about to find out.

Review

The idea for this book is amazing but unfortunately it did not quite hit its potential. They seemed to force the idea of it being 1996 way to much (probably to try and stop it being about two teenagers with a Facebook addiction) and the plot was predictable. That being said I do wish I had insight into future me’s mind… on the other hand if a past me was to look at most of my Facebook statuses it would probably come across as gibberish. Which was the other problem the writing of the status updates on Facebook is just plain weird. Particularly when you consider the fact that they are meant to be 30. The characters were vapid and Emma in particular made me want to pull my hair out. she was whiney and annoying and completely self centered and i spent most of the book waiting for her to have some epiphany that she is a bitch and needs to grow up. josh was a believable but unremarkable flat sort of character who despite his “love” for Emma has absolutely no problem chasing another girl just because “Facebook told him too”.

Quotes

“Why does it say she has three hundred and twenty friends?” Josh asks. “Who has that many friends?”

“What the hell happened to Pluto?!”

“Josh turns to me. “I can’t believe she’s writing these things.” “Not she,” I say. “Me.” “Why would anyone say this stuff about themselves on the Internet? It’s crazy!” “Exactly,” I say. “I’m going to be mentally ill in fifteen years, and that’s why my husband doesn’t want to be around me.”

Also By Jay Asher

13Also By Carolyn Mackler

vvv tembaobrt

Leave a Reply

