The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault in Our Stars ~ John Green

TFIOS

Rating 3 Stars

Blurb

Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 13, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now.

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.

Review

When I first heard about this book I thought it was a love story about people on a space ship. then I was told it was about cancer and I thought it was about 2 people who fall in love on a space ship full of people with cancer. this went on until I figured rather than constantly coming up with a new plot I should probably just read it. hearing so much about it before I read it though led to big expectations which unfortunately were not fulfilled, one of the big things I was told was that it would make you cry… and while I admit the last 3 pages made me a bit teary most of the sad parts of the book lacked the surprise factor that really makes it sad. the book was nice enough in the same way as vanilla cake is nice enough, it was nice but it wasn’t chocolate. that being said there were some very nice sentiments scattered throughout this book.

Memorable Quotes

“There are infinite numbers between 0 and 1. There’s .1 and .12 and .112 and an infinite collection of others. Of course, there is a bigger infinite set of numbers between 0 and 2, or between 0 and a million. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities. … I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.”

“As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.”  

“My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.”

Also By This Author

aaok lfa

2 thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars

  1. I agree with some of your ideas about this book. For one, it definitely didn’t make me cry (though that is a challenge in itself). I’m also very glad that you included some of the memorable quotes from the book, because in my opinion, that is the best part of the story- John Green’s distinctive, lovely voice throughout. Although I probably would have said more positive things about the book, this was a great review!

    • Thank-you for your feedback. And I agree the best part of this book was the writing. I should have added as a disclaimer that I do not like cancer books because of past experiences. That being said despite not actually liking the plot that much because of that I still have gone out and bought two more of John Greens books for no other reason than his writing was so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

